Thursday, 24 July 2014


There are numerous planning authorities authorized to approve layouts in and around Bangalore.  They are;

-Bangalore Development Authority (BDA)

-Bangalore Metropolitan Regional Development Authority (BMRDA)

-Bangalore International Airport Planning Authority (BIAPA)

-Ramanagarm – Channpatna Urban Development Authority (RCUDA)

-Nelamangala Planning Authority

-Magadi Local Planning Authority

-Kanakapura Local Planning Authority

-Bangalore Mysore Infrastructure Corridor Planning Authority (BMICPA)

Each Planning Authority has a specified jurisdiction.The jurisdiction of the BDA comprises the area under the BCC, surrounding city municipal and town municipal councils and village panchayats. All applications may be addressed to the Commissioner,Bangalore Development Authority,Kumara Park, Bangalore-20.
The office of the BMRDA is located in the LRDE building, Ali Askar Road, Bangalore-52, and has its jurisdiction on Bangalore urban and rural districts and Malur taluk in the Kolar district, except the areas covered under the BDA, BIAPA and other local planning authorities.

BIAPA also has its office in the LRDE building, Ali Askar Road, Opposite to Palace Guttahalli, Bangalore –52, and has its jurisdiction over the proposed new airport and its environs. 

BMICPA has a jurisdiction over the small area of about 65 sq.kms comprising the Bangalore-Mysore Inter Corridor Area. Other Planning areas referred above have a jurisdiction over respective towns and environs. Planning areas under the BMRDA is very vast, but infrastructure available in the. BMRDA is not enough for speedy disposal of approvals, causing much delay.

In other cases, not referred above, the respective urban development authorities like the Shimoga Urban Development Authority, the Bellary Urban Development Authority etc., have the jurisdiction to approve the formation of layouts, if the lands are situated in their geographical jurisdiction.There are 27 urban development authorities in the State.Apart from these urban planning authorities, if land is situated in the areas under other planning authorities, the applications have to be referred to the Member Secretary of the concerned planning authority.There are 42 planning authorities in the State.

If properties are set outside the jurisdiction of the BDA, BMRDA, BIAPA, BMICPA, urban development authorities and the Member Secretary Planning Authority, applications have to be submitted to the Assistant Director, Town Planning of concerned place.Where development activity has to be approved by these planning authorities as per the provisions of all various laws and the local bodies have no authority to grant such permissions.


No comments:

Post a Comment